Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

My name is Richard and I'm a car addict.

I'm located in Lubbock Texas.
I'm a locomotive engineer and I've worked for the Santa Fe/BNSF railroad since 1971.
I was raised on Ford but I have to confess I've strayed in the past I'm just pretty much hooked on anything with wheels, at the present time I have a 55 Thunderbird and wife has a 97 Mustang gt conv. ( also my daily commuter is a 98 ZX2 and I have a 54 Studebaker 2 dr ht custom project, hence my E-mail address).
I was directed to this forum when I was trying to find info on T-5 tranny's, I'm in the process of swapping the automatic out of the T-bird and installing a T-5. I first swapped my tranny to another guy doing a resto on another 55 T-bird, so I've already got the bell housing, pedal assy's and all related standard tranny/ clutch linkage/ brackets. I plan on keeping the Y-block with the t-5 behind it. I've already found a T-5 to Y-block bellhousing adaptor plate on John Mummert's Y-block site.
While looking at the T-5 spec's chart I noticed that the T-5's for the 94-97 3.8 liter V-6 have the same max. torque spec's as the 85-89 5.0 liter T-5's , seems the main difference is the length of the input shaft and the lower gear ratios 2nd-5th gear in the v-6. I will be running a 57 Ford 9" with 3.55 gears and the 0.73 final drive for a V-6 might be even more desirable than the 0.63 final drive for the 5.0 liter tranny.