Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, this is my first time here, so hopefully you guys can help me better than the other fourms out there. Here's my dellema: I'm trying to find a Ford 9" for my '69 Fairlane Fastback... I dont know how long it has to be to fit right, but, i have found a 9" in a '64-'65 Galaixy Wagon that had a 390 in it. My worrie is that it may be too long... does anyone know if it is?? Because truthfully i dont want to have to measure mine then travel an hour and a half to find out that it dosent fit... Thanks

Jace

·
Registered
2,163 Posts
Just remember that the spring perches could be in the wrong spot if the rear measures the same. But thats easy to fix by getting new perches or cutting the old ones of and putting them in the right spot.
I have an 9 inch from my Cougar that might find its way into the Fairlane, but the perches are 3/4 in. off but the rear is the same length. Just move them in or out.

Rick

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks, i never knew that that could happen. What kind of hood is on the fairlane in the picture? Where could i find one? i like it alot.. also, if i were to put a 390ci in a car that was formaly a 302ci, would i have have to move the engine mounts for it to fit?

Jace

·
Registered
2,163 Posts
The hood on my Fairlane is a stock hood with a Cougar Eliminator scoop on it. Here's a better pic.

For 390 mounts, you'd need to find frame mounts from a 390 car. You can still get the rubber ones from a jobber, but have to track down frame mounts.

Rick

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·