Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1964 t bird that I was thinking about racing. Does anybody know why this car is so heavy and what I can do about? It's got disc brakes up front but any rear suspension ideas would be appreciated also. I'm completely new to all this so be nice lol

·
Registered
70 Posts
My question is WHY!!!!
the car wieghs in about 5K Lbs + -
street brakes are not for racing, any kind
also you'd be hard pressed to get bigger wheels\tires under the car
In 66 you either had a 390 or a 428 although good engines they would need a lot of work
to get max HP out of them... they are FE engines, and a build is a little more expensive
then you might think.
Not trying to sound negative, just giving you a heads up..
on the other hand, if you must use that car to go racing
I'd drop the engine and trans and get a 385 with a tremic 5 spd
drop the rear axle and install an axle out of a late 70's Lincoln or Granada
with upper and lower control arms and disc breaks...this would require some fabrication
Best of Luck

·
Registered
976 Posts
A new Dodge Challenger is about 4700lbs and what Dodge did was make power to push the pig down the track.
My point is you need big power and big money and anything can be fast.

·
Premium Member
594 Posts
This is a unibody car designed before computer analysis, so cheaper to build it heavy then light. My '64 came with no options and it still weighs 4400#.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I am going to build a 460 stroker for it and add some turbos. Strip weight where i can and go from there. I've always wanted a t bird and a race car so that's the only reason why this car.

·
Premium Member
594 Posts