Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I have a 289 w/ cearmic coated tri-y's I've been running for a few years now. They seem to work great and I noticed a power increase from the exhaust manifolds i was running both in seat of pants and et's at track. Fast forward and now I'm getting more into racing the car from time to time at local dragstrip... I've got some upcoming mod's i'm looking to make, AFR 165's, ram air and battery relocate. I've seen where many folks run the long tubes for pure performance it seems. What would be the advantages to switching to long tubes if any? Also can anyone confirm or deny the statement I've heard several times that "tri-y's are better down low for torque and long tubes make more power up top"? Would the probably $500 bucks i'd have to spend for good coated long tubes(hooker's) really add to my et? My motor is mild 289 right now, weiand single plane, holley 600dp, about 10:1cr w/ flat tops, roller rockers, stock heads now but have the 165's
to go on, mild race cam not sure spec's...runs 14.2 @98+ so far..or are the long tubes for more radically build up's, thanks for any comments...

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
I run tri-y's on mine and I run in the 11's. I would stay with them for now until after you do your head swap and then see if you still want to switch headers. The tri-y's are a great street header, but for all out racing, the long tubes are probably better.

·
Premium Member
1,153 Posts
You guys are talking as if Tri-Y's are NOT long tube headers? Doug Thorley makes a nice set of Tri-Y long tube. What am I missing here?Long tube headers are for more low end torque, Shortie Headers are for High RPM.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts