Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to install one of those modern units that looks similar to stock in the dash. I was going to do the full stealth amps with hidden jack Ipod thing but really just prefer being able to turn knobs. My biggest questions are in regard to speaker options.

My current plan is to put a mid driver on each side of the trans tunnel, up under the dash, but pointed toward the corresponding door. Then, I have a set of 1" component tweeters that I'll tuck under the outer corners of the dash. I'll position them so they're not noticeable from outside the car, but still have a straight shot at your ears when seated.

Anyone run the original dash speaker location, with a modern stereo speaker set? Does it give you enough stereo spread? I'm a musician and recording engineer so I'm really after something that mimics the monitors in a studio as far as left to right separation goes. Maybe mids up there instead of under the dash?

Lastly, any stealth rear speaker options/ideas? I want rear sound too, but don't like the package tray look, and again, am trying to hide the fact it has a nice system. It will have a sub in the trunk so I don't need a bunch of low end from the main speakers so they can be small.

·
Premium Member
5,601 Posts
My setup is along those lines. 3-1/2" in the kick panels (angled to the driver), 4x6" in the center dash, amp in the trunk and 10" woofer next to a tail light. The woofer sounds great (nondirectional) back there.

I had to put bass blockers to the 3-1/2"s because they were distorting at volume. That required the 4x6" to cover the mid range. The 4x6 was too loud so I added a resistor. Unfortunately, even though the dashboard vinyl mostly covers the speaker (vinyl has holes in it), I find the central location diminishes separation.