Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I got my first classic it's a '64 square body four door base model falcon. I'm really excited cause this is my first restoration and a huuuge learning experience. I'm trying to collect all my parts and do all my research kinda get everything organized before I dive into the project. I took out the straight 6 and tranny, cleaned everything up and picked up my 5.0 302 from a 1987 lincoln, and an 8.8 rear end. I want to bore the engine out and have it all cleaned up before putting it in. Any suggestions on basically where I should begin? I'm new to restorations, please don't rip me apart haha, I'm just wondering if it makes any differnece in what order to do everything, for instance I'm thinking I wana get my brakes and suspension etc. finished before I begin any motor work. Any suggestions or advice of any sort is completely welcome, I'm all ears. Thanks!!!!

Attachments

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Maybe I can get some help with some more specific questions.. The problems I've been running into so far have been what kind of motor mounts I should use since I'm putting in the 302. There are two kinds, the two piece and three piece. I've heard to use the three piece over the two because with the two piece motor mounts you have to twist and bend to make them fit.. Second problem is I don't want to use the original master cylinder because it's a single chamber, I would like to use a dual cylinder because it seems safer but I'm trying to avoid using power brakes because I don't think there's enough room for the brake booster.. Third question.. Should I use the cross member? I guess some people don't but I'm not quite sure where to go with that..

·
Registered
684 Posts