Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks. I'm a newbie here, and I hope there isn't already a thread on this. I'm not trying to sell my car here, I just need advice.

I own a 1968 Mustang 289 coupe. Last December, I was rear-ended by an uninsured driver. My own insurance, it turned out, was woefully inadequate (I'd had it for a long time, and was rather naive when I got it as a teenager).

To make this long story short, I can't afford to repair my poor pony. The frame rails need to be replaced, the right rear quarter panel is toast, the bumper is twisted, etc etc etc.

Before the accident, my Mustang was in excellent condition (according to AAA, who sent a guy to estimate it's pre-accident value). Aside from the damage to the rear end, it's still in great shape. The only other problem is the driver's seat upholstry is torn.

How do I sell a car in this condition?

I know it's still worth a lot to the right person. Someone who could repair it themselves, or someone who would part it out.

Some photos:
(Please note: the body color is Meadowlark Yellow, though it often looks offwhite in these photos. Interior is Nugget Gold)

Exterior (relatively old pics, but the car still looked like this before it was hit):
http://www.neovenator.com/cars/mustang/images/10-12_04.jpg
http://www.neovenator.com/cars/mustang/images/10-12_03.jpg
Current '67 style wheels: http://www.neovenator.com/cars/mustang/images/new_wheels.jpg

From the night of the accident:
http://www.neovenator.com/special/sadstang.jpg

ANY advice someone could give would be appreciated. I have no idea where to begin here. I want to find my Mustang a good home, or at least get enough out of it to make a good down-payment on something new.

Thanks for reading.

·
Premium Member
34,855 Posts