Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
need bellhousing help

Hey all im a newbie to this forum stuff but no one seems to answer my questions i have bought a 351 c to install into my 65 mustang i took the shock towers out with the ifs kit i have a early 289 now with a 5 bolt bell housing will this work with my new 351 c or do i need a later model bell housing?

·
Registered
659 Posts
need bellhousing help

the 5 bolt bell will not work. I think the 351c's were big block bolt pattern.

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
need bellhousing help

The 5 bolt bell will not work. The 351c is not big block pattern. You can use any 6 bolt bellhousing, same as from 289, 302, 351w as well as the tranmission, clutch and 28 oz flywheels.

I see, you have a C4 automatic. You can change the bell on the automatic. Same above appies but be careful when unbolting the old bellhousing from the auto tranny. Actually, I'd recommend having a shop do the swap for you. I saw a guy mess up a rebuilt tranny buy trying to remove the bellhousing.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: latamud on 11/25/06 10:38am ]</font>

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
need bellhousing help

i already have the bell housing apart did the rebuild myself using the b&m kit done quit a few for 289 motors just never done a 351 c thanks for the help by the way if i go to the 6 bolt do i need a 164 tooth flywheel or can i stay with the 157?

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
need bellhousing help

The 6 bolt bell housing can be either 157 tooth or 164 tooth. You can use either one as long as you use the corresponding flex plate.