Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,im new to ford so i dont know alot about switching parts,I want to put in a posi rearend,wondering if i could use a 80s,90s 5.0 posi.Drum brakes for know.And also what mods can I do to the engine heads? I mean swap em out 302 ect...I want to make it a stroker later so i want the parts to be reused.how much power coud I get out of it..It has a c4 auto 3sp,Do you think a b&m starglide would be good or rachet???The trans is at the shop being beefed up, want to put 4:11 gears in the back...Any comments would be helpfull Thanks again....

·
Registered
3,572 Posts
The 8.8 from later model Mustangs are coil sprung so you would have to cut the old mounts off and weld leaf perches on. You'd probably be better off finding a 9" that will bolt right in. Stu

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cool thanks fo the reply,what is a 9" rear end and what car or truck would have it?I also heard a certin lincoln has a posi that bolts right up do you guys no anything about that,Also wahts a good shifter???Thanks again

·
Registered
659 Posts
I like my B&M Hammer shifter.
Granda rear's 8 or 9 will bolt into the early mustangs
You could take and weld your tubes onto a 9 inch housing.
That is what i am gonna do.

·
Registered
3,572 Posts
On 2006-06-19 22:48, derekdigler wrote:
cool thanks fo the reply,what is a 9" rear end and what car or truck would have it?I also heard a certin lincoln has a posi that bolts right up do you guys no anything about that,Also wahts a good shifter???Thanks again
The Lincoln Versaille use a 9" with disk brakes. They were mainly sought after for the disk setup. They are not the best swap anymore for disks.
Basically '67 up Mustangs/Cougars with big blocks or at least 351's in them came with 9" rear ends that will straight swap into your car. Intermediate Fords and Mercs used them too but the width may be too wide for the early stang...not sure