Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
62 fairlane
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a die hard Chevy fan til recently I've pickup a 62 Fairlane 500 221/3on tree I'm new to site so please go easy on me 馃榿 I'm swapping the drivetrain out for that of a 80 tbird 302/c4 I believe with 94k miles wht I wanna know is can I use the rack and pinion setup also the suspension setup also please any positive advice and info will be gladly appreciate and I'm just want a reliable and a little modern feel thanks

Attachments

Registered
unless you are a great fabricator the t bird suspension steering is not gonna work frame rails are gonna be a different rake and width and mounting will be a task there is quite a few options for front end and i just read up on a company named tin man that makes frame rails and a transmission crossmember that i wish was avaible several years ago before i built my own front suspension you have rod and custom fat man heidts and one other one i cant remember that make different ways to change to a modern approach i also think the tunnel may need messaging with the od trans but im not positive on that have fun !!

Registered
I've been a die hard Chevy fan til recently I've pickup a 62 Fairlane 500 221/3on tree I'm new to site so please go easy on me 馃榿 I'm swapping the drivetrain out for that of a 80 tbird 302/c4 I believe with 94k miles wht I wanna know is can I use the rack and pinion setup also the suspension setup also please any positive advice and info will be gladly appreciate and I'm just want a reliable and a little modern feel thanks
Welcome. The 302 and c4 should fit in there nice. My 63 has a 4r70w which is very tight but it fits. One thing you are going to learn about the 62/63 is the reinforced shock towers limit your options for headers. I think only hooker makes them or you can get these: