Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi FE maniacs ! I am a newbie and I am not a mechanic,but I have a 64 Galaxie 500 2 dr. that I want to put a 428 stroker in.

What components would you folks use to build the engine from the oil pan to the carb.? I will be using the car mainly for the street. Also,is it possible to get 500 HP. at the wheels ?
I sure would be grateful for any input.....
Thanks in advance to all !
Red

·
Registered
6,662 Posts
That is a LOT of horsepower to ask for at the rear wheels..Especially through a heavy automatic like a C-6...If you really want that much power from an FE it will be very expensive...You might want to go right for a bigger stroker like a 445 cube using a 390 block..If you already have the CJ heads in your sig those could work well on a nice street engine..

·
Premium Member
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I thought about that also,it would make a lot more sense. If I did stroke the 390, what crank would you use ? I've been reading about the Scat 425 crank, or using a 428 crank....Let me know what you all think...

·
Premium Member
3,934 Posts
500 RWHP is probably unrealistic, even from a 445. Using a 20% loss, that is 625 hp. You'd have to spin it very high with big dollar stuff or use a power adder, and in that case the block probably would split

If you are willing to go aftermarket block, a 4.25 stroke, 4.25 bore, with good heads should do what you want. Something similar or slightly above the build on my Mustang. However, that means professionally ported aftermarket heads, good valvetrain, a 427 block, etc.

Whats the budget? Because a 445 should get you to 500 FWHP which is nothing to sneeze at, but where you want to go gets more expensive.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
what parts would I use?

easy. first rebuild or buy a 31 spline third member in a fun gear ratio like 4.10's $400-$1200
buy 31 spline axles $300-$400
custom made driveshaft $400