Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a courier for a living and need a new car but basicly I need something 35+ MPG and reliable my problem is I dont know what do get I got a taurus now and like the size wish i could use a crown vic but I cant so does anyone know of a site where I can compare all cars made within the last 10 years or so as far as MPG and such and then I can go from there? If anyone knows something that may be good I need something reliable 3-6k will last 100k under severe conditions (meaning 6-10k miles per month) and parts are not to bad on me a Wagon of some type would be great thanks alot guys.

·
Registered
3,658 Posts
Well, I know that the Volvo 850 Wagon I have gets good mileage and has been rock solid reliable, over 300k since it was build in '94 - but that probably isn't the best idea for you, since they're kind of expensive to repair.

With the goals you've set (35mpg mostly) I would recommend an early 90's Accord. I have nothing against imports as far as daily drivers are concerned - if they werent good cars they wouldn't be completely dominating the US market.

Really though, with any car what it comes down to is maintenance - if you put 10k miles a month on your car, you need to be changing the oil twice a month. If you keep an engine up at every interval, it will give you years and miles and miles of reliable service. I don't drive that Volvo easily, and the auto tranny is all original (the engine was replaced due to a problem with putting oil in it, but it would have been trucking along just fine, as the "new" one is) It had 270,000 miles on the original engine, before the oil all escaped (whoops.)

A Nissan Sentra, Honda Accord, or similar car will get you 40MPG highway, and rock solid reliability with cheap repair costs.