Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I built a DIYPNP for 5.0 mustangs, its for another project but I figured I'd get the kinks worked out on my 90 LX. So here are a few factors that may be working for/against me. My IAC does work with the A9L, Unplugging it changes the idle and I can hear it step up and down. Sometimes it does hang a high idle though (2000rpm). My thermostat is probably not even there, the car never gets above 160F.

So I run VE Analyze and have pretty good luck other than some pinging under load. I come back in to dial it back a little, and the idle works its way up to 1200+ rpm. I have tried all the IAC and PWM settings and it doesn't seem to do much. The IAC Test doesnt seem to do anything either. Am I missing something? I'm pretty new to this, its only my second MS and the other was a GM throttle body that worked without issue.

·
Registered
10,342 Posts
I don't have your .msq of course, but a careful look at your tables and settings will often reveal something weird. Like a bunch of advance where it shouldn't be, or a wonky CLT or IAT curve that it dips into only occasionally. FE may be on it if your CLT does not come up as 'normal'. I assume you've already done that looking, so...

The PNP would be a Jerry or Matt answer, but my first eye twitch is an intermittent grounding of your TIP122 through the mounting screw, insulator, leg, close solder bridge or something. If the case gets ground, it will throw full 12v at the idle valve.

Another common one I've heard of is simply that the PNP has taken the valve beyond where it's been for 20 years, smeared goo around, and it's just sticking a bit. A quick clean-out may prove that one. Otherwise, I'd call DIY and they probably have the right answer without thinking about it.

David

·
Premium Member
330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·