Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So my son , age 17, was stuck on the idea of buying a muscle car. His friend's dad had a 1967 galaxie 500 that the sons had no interest in, so my son told him he would buy it. I told him if he wanted it, HE had to save the money and pay for it.
about 4 months later, he bought it. We got it running and gave it a full tune up. He got plates on it and has 10 days to get it inspected.

I think everything will pass, but it seems as if it takes longer to start than it should. choke issue?

it also does not "kick down" when driving and hit the gas. linkage issue?

I'm far from a master mechanic, but we are working on the car together and could use some help LOL

Any suggestions for things to do to it?
it is pretty much all original and has the 2brl 390ci engine.
4 door , automatic, A/c, posi rear end

it needs interior badly, but the body is suprisingly solid.

where can he find interior parts for it?

oh, he picked it up for $800

:)

Attachments

·
Registered
185 Posts
pretty nice.. it is rare to find younger people interested in this old stuff. on the kickdown issue, I'd try to find out what transmission is in it.. cruisomatic 2 speed, FMX 3 speed, C4, C6. that will narrow down how the linkage is connected and how to approach the adjustments.

On the startup , could be the choke, considering the age of the car, that carb might be in a gummy state. I'm sure someone will chime in on carb tips. interior wise, you can get about everythign from Dearborn http://www.dearbornclassics.com/catalogsearch/result/?search_year=1967&search_model_id=59&q=&x=57&y=0
they have tons of stuff to restore these cars. another nice place is http://tiptopwebsite.com/websites/index2.php?username=colson43&page=4
Crites sells some nice upgrades. or Dennis carpenter http://www.parts123.com/parts123/yb.dll?userwatch~dynamicSearchPage~cadefffO