Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, new member here. Excited about joining the site and starting a new build. I came over to Ford (64 Fairlane 500) from the mopar group. Last car was a 65 Coronet 528 Hemi, 4 speed, Dana. Sold that car in able to retire, so now starting something different. I'm new to Fords, so am learning as I go. Scored a very nice 64 Fairlane off e bay, 88K orig. miles, 289 auto, and being the old skool hot rodder I am, I'm beginning to assemble parts to do a 454 small block windsor build. researched a lot in the past weeks, and have narrowed it down as far as parts go. Dart SHP block, Probe rotating assy, 4.125 bore, 4.250 stroke, 6.250 H beam rods. Will contact Comp regarding hydraulic cam recommendations, and probably a dual plane intake and carb size to be determined later. Any thoughts on the Probe parts versus say an Eagle rotating assy? The car is going to be street hot rod that may see some strip use for fun. Already have a toploader and building a 3:50 nine inch rear for it. Will be mini tubbed and narrow the rear a bit. I scored a brand new set of ported Ford motorsport Z304 heads last thursday with 2.08 intakes for the build. I see CHP has the kit I want to use and may contact them for pricing. I have already talked to another distributor off e bay and he has given me some very good pricing on the block and kit. Any thoughts, ideas, or recommendations would be greatly appreciated by a new Ford guy. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
10,299 Posts