Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 64 futura hardtop has what I believe to be original 3 leaf rear springs. Worn out, as well as the bushings. Before I replace them I need some advice from anyone who has installed / rebuilt the rear suspension. I do not want to disturb the ride height. The car is level front to back. The shocks are new but I notice a slight sag on the left hand side. Also the car is not as stiff as I would like. Sortta spongy. The whole front suspension has been replaced. Please advise. Any vendors you would recommend will be appreciated. The only 3 leaf springs I can find are from MACs. I'm a little nervous and confused about going with 4 or 5 leaves since the car has 3 leaves on it now. Thanks!

·
Registered
172 Posts
I replaced the leaf springs in my 65 merc cyclone with new factory oem rated springs from Eaton. I'm new to ca to rs and didn't measure the height of the car before I did the job. I estimate the back of my car was raised up 2 inches from where it was before. Eaton said they would settle over time and they probably did settle somewhat. After a year, I installed 2 inch lowering blocks to get the height where I think it should be. (with the worn out springs, I bottomed out the suspension all the time)

Eaton is helpful and might be able to set up the springs so you get new suspension and no change in the ride height.

·
Registered
1 Posts