Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I just purchased a 66 Galaxie 500 to add to my car collection and should be getting it in the next week or so. It is this car - Modified 1966 Ford Galaxie 500 Convertible

Tire Vehicle Land vehicle Car Wheel

It looks like it's in pretty good shape, but I'll find out for sure when I receive it. I tend to do a lot of modifications to my cars and document it on my youtube channel, so I was wondering if there is a good shop manual or something people recommend for these cars, as this is my first Galaxie. I found this one (1966 Ford Custom Galaxie Monterey Parklane Factory Service Manual Shop Repair | eBay) but wanted to see if that would be my best bet?

I was also wondering if there are any common things I should be aware of with these cars to look at first. I plan on doing a full shakedown of the car, but as I'm new to these maybe you guys know the common issues I should look at?

Thanks for any help or recommendations! I'm excited to join the Galaxie club, as these are my favorite 4 seater convertibles.

Josh

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I just thought of another question! Does anyone know of any direct fit 3-point seat belts for the front and rear of a 66 convertible? This is going to be a family cruiser as I have my own sports car, so I want to make sure it's safe.

· Registered
354 Posts
Yes that manual is well worth it. I always buy shop manuals for a car if I intend to do major work on it. Just for the torque specs it is worth while but also wiring and all the exploded views of everything on the car.

most dreaded thing is frame rot. Look it over closely especially The inside of the frame as best you can.

there are no 3pt belt options unless you do a custom install.

· Registered
71 Posts