Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what does everyone perfer?? drag racing is inexpensive but you only get 12 or so seconds of g-force.Although more expensive, at open track road racing events you can log 200 miles or more of extreme driving. The cost of vehicle set up is about the same.

·
Premium Member
14,758 Posts
I get dizzy doing anything but drag racing. If it's got anything with going in circles, or hard corners, no thank you.
Gimme that launch.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I've been racing around in circles for almost 20 years now and it is a blast!
Until you've been at speed, bumper to bumper and door handle to door handle you dont know what fun is

·
Premium Member
14,758 Posts
Ive raced road courses, 1/2 mile dirt & drag raced. Road racing is fun, costs more to enter & it's limited to the type of car you can run to be competitive. Dirt, carried too much of that home & hated the mess & all the cleaning. Although all forms of motorsports have their easy & hard places... Road & dirt you get a TON of time to recover from your mistakes, drag racing? Over in 9 seconds & if you aren't on your game every time... you go home in a hurry. I like being on my toes.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Road Racing.... I went to my first drivers event about 2 years ago at Blackhawk. It had 3 classes and I learned a lot. The instructor also let me ride along in a new model vette with 500 h.p. Lengenfelter (sp.?)

For a couple of hundred bucks, you can easily put 100 miles on your vehicle in a day's time. It's not racing against someone else, it's racing against the clock, and seeing what you can improve.

·
Premium Member
14,758 Posts