Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I spent 90 minutes last night looking at a 66 Comet two door hard top. The current owner started working on it, but decided he needed to free up garage space (he has 15 cars spread wround his property and his three garages).

The body is all in primer and is straight except for a golfball size dent by the left rear wheel arc. The interior is removed and all of the trunk lining so I have been over and under all of the sheet metal. There are some pinholes in the front floor pans, otherwise it is solid. All of the exterior trim is off of the car, but I inpsected it and it is in amazingly good condition. It has a 289 with an automatic. He scavenged the engine from a Galaxie in a junk yard.

Here is the key issue for me - I am a beginner and I have planned on buying a car that is running that I can do one thing at a time to and enjoy in between. This is a solid foundation for a project, but I have to do a very complete project just to get it on the street. What is your best advice?

I know quite a bit more about it, but I'll answer your questions as they come up rather than making this post any longer than it has to be.

Oh, he is asking $2900 and said he would take $2600. I didn't try to negotiate any further because I wasn't ready to write a check.

Thanks

·
Registered
660 Posts
Well... Sounds like you are in for a "project". If you are the kind of person that likes the project part more than the driving part I say go for it!

Body work and interior restoration is very time consuming and requires a lot of patience and parts searching to get it right. Personally, I love doing that kind of stuff... but I have friends that can't handle that and end up driving their cars with nothing but a bench seat and an instrument cluster for four years. Then they sell the "peice of crap" for something completed.