Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
904 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im planing on building my 68 289 engine up like Project 11.99 with a bit of modifications. Im going for Speed and Power but more importantly im going for reliability! Im a Poor College Student and cant afford to swap out parts everyday. Im willing to invest in good parts if they will save me trouble later.

0)Whats the difference 1968 65a and 65b body styles, mines is a 65b.

1)How much was the C4 hurting ET's,and what are the pros and cons of a C4 VS. T5?

2)Would an X pipe and flowmasters have helped ET's?

3)Im planning on getting GT 40 aluminum heads, what are the pros and cons?

4)Higher compression pistons, and 302 crank in the 289 block.

5)How will the 17 x 8 bullit wheels affect the car?

6)I dont know squat about cams, so need your input here. I was also thinking timing gears insted of timing chain

7)Under drive pullies.

Aluminum radiation with electric fan.

I have a lot of other mods to ask questons about, but this is enough for now, i guess.

thanks alot
Kenny

·
Registered
904 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
why is a roller cam better than a flat?

·
Premium Member
2,216 Posts
Too many questions, LOL. Since this thing doesn't let you see the post as you respond I can't remember any of them.

I don't think the gear drives are worth much. Just get a double roller.

Roller cams aren't necessarily better depending on your definition of better. Many many folks out at my drag strip(including me) still run flat solid cams.

If you put a 302 crank in a 289 block you need 302 rods to go with it unless you are going to do something with the pistons.

A properly built C4 will kick butt on a manual tranny unless its a slam shift type like a Jericho or a Lenco. I guess I mis
sed something there on your lost et situation.

I can't remember the rest of your post.

·
Registered
355 Posts
My opinion: 17" wheels for your coupe would look worse than they would perform.