Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I had a couple of hours free this afternoon. Then I remembered that I had a 65 Galaxie in the garage. I have had the car for a while. All the mechanics are done and the car was stripped down for painting. Well life got in the way. 2 years later, here I am ready to start again. I have never done this before but I have seen it done on Youtube. ☺ So far, I made sure that the trunk and door gaps were set. Then I use a air powered shear to remove the bulk of the panel. Now, I am drilling/grinding spot welds.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
3,336 Posts
scary surgery there :)

I know what you mean about 'life happening' , my old mustangs sat in the garage since '84, just got started on it last july... then stopped in sept to work on sons project, getting ready to get back after it now... funny how priorities can change huh :)

where did you find a full quarter? I'd heard only skins or half-skins were available for 65s but I hadnt really looked in the last ten years...

congrats on getting time to get back on a project- know it can be fun at times juggling priorities- always feels good to see some progress on a idled project, keep up the good work :)

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am using a NOS quarter that I got from Dennis Carpenter in Charlotte, NC. Surprisingly affordable.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
More progress

Spent another couple of hours today. Not real sure what I am going to do in the last pic. Where the quarter panel meets under the rear window. I started to drill out the spot welds. However, the quarter panel goes under where it meets the roof and also where it meets the panel under the rear window, I can't really get to the spot welds down in the trunk. So I think that I am going to leave what I have and just join up to it.

Attachments

·
Registered
496 Posts
Re: More progress