Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello...

I've been working on my 65 Comet for about three years now and I'm currently working the body....which never seems to stop.

Earlier on, I built the 289 up (with help from this forum) ...my first time and has since been resting on an engine cart.

Well since this was my first time, I'd like to start her up and break her in on the engine cart prior to installing her in the engine bay. I wouldn't be surprised if I have problems and would like not to have to pull her again especially since I don't plan to finally install her until after I complete my paint job.

Was hoping for some input prior to me doing this....any lessons learned from others that have done this...any obvious no-no's that I'm not aware of.

Not sure how to handle the cooling. Should I mount a radiator with the hoses....what have you guys done...etc..

any input would be greatly appreciated....

thanks

george

·
Premium Member
853 Posts
There are special engine run stands. Most that I've seen are home built. You would need a radiator, hoses, starter, battery, gauges, and ignition. The engine storage cart is not a good platform for running an engine.

·
Registered
2,424 Posts
it would be a lot easyer to put it in for the brake in.. If you talking about one of those engine stands you rebuild them on NOT A GOOD IDEA.... the torque of the motor will flip the motor over for sure... unless you chain the stand down to the floor.
tim

·
Registered
991 Posts
I have used engine stand with some angle iron bolt to the motor mounts and welded to the frame, worked for decades. On the flipside you do have alot of corresponding things you need to do a run, ignition, gas, radiator, gauges, exhaust etc etc.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts