Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I've been doing some reading on this forum and a few other sites, looking for swapping some sort of EFI hyd roller cam engine into a '68 Lincoln along with a 4 speed auto trans and I'd like to run this by you guys. I want to replace the 462 in it for something more common and reliable, not looking for a hot rod but at least some decent power for the amount of fuel it eats. I want to be able to drive on the freeway and cruise to shows reliably and comfortably.
Just as a background on my ability level since I'm new here, I've done a lot of EFI builds and swaps for small block chevy's and I'm an aircraft mechanic...that's not to say I know everything, I just have the basic skill/knowledge/tools to tackle an EFI swap, I just don't know the Ford details, yet.

Here's what I'm thinking of:
--351W based 393 Street Fighter short block(CHP), hydraulic roller cam(nothing picked out but something mild) and roller rocker arms.
--World Castings Windsor Jr. Iron 200cc heads, 2.02/1.60" valves, 58cc combustion chamber
--'94-96 EEC-IV MAF EFI from a bronco or truck
-port/polish/gasket match the intake halves and head/intake ports
--E4OD transmission with an RV/towing converter and clutch packs
--accessories/brackets and most EFI stuff I believe I can get from boneyards, (accessories at least for cores). broncos and f150/250 gas trucks are very plentiful around here.

I've heard to get the Ford Racing EFI conversion book to do the EFI myself. I've swapped an '85 TPI 305/700r-4 into my '56 chevy 210 and I'm really happy with it, not too much of a problem doing the job.

Does it seem like I'm headed in the right direction? What are your thoughts on the Ford computer and EFI intake compared to aftermarket? obviously the aftermarket manifolds flow better but I'm not sure if that's much of a concern as I'm trying to build a mild low rpm stump-puller.

·
Registered
1,068 Posts