Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently running Shelby Tri-Y's which have 1 1/2" primaries and I am thinking of going to some Hooker Super Comps. My birthday is coming up and I have been drooling over these for awhile and the ceramic coated ones are really pretty. I am wondering how much I would gain over my Tri-Y's and if I would hurt my low end on the street too much. I really would like some more top end on the track and I feel my current headers are holding me back. I have a pretty decent free flowing mandrel bent 2 1/2" exhaust w/ an x-pipe and Dynomax Super Turbo mufflers. The motor is pushing a lot of air and fuel with the blower so that is a consideration for getting these headers. Any thoughts? I'm just a country doctor, damnit! -Mike

·
Registered
333 Posts
My suggestions is " Go for it!".....tri-ys help with low end torque....you have a blower which is a low end torque generator. Bigger headers should help with the high end breathing as well as the low end.

·
Registered
373 Posts
I've gotta believe the Hooker Headers would help across the board over the Tri Y's. It looks like that is the biggest bottleneck in your combo right now. 1 1/2" primaries are too small for a 331 stroker much less a blown 331.
I run the Hooker Comps on my 347 and really like them. I just wish I had them ceramic coated.

·
Registered
4,520 Posts
Give it to Mikey, he won't eat it. He's eating it - Mikey, likes it!

I have always liked that commercial. If you don't try something new; you'll never find out find out how much you have developed.

You did the research, you compared it to your current build and your theory seems to be reasonable - what's not to like?