Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to this page. I have a 302w out of a 1969 galaxy 500, I have swapped it into a bullnose ford and swapped oil pan and oil pick-up tube for work with my chassis. Anyways I'm having a problem where I set my timing tdc on #1 cylinder on compression stroke, both my rockers are loose, my balancer shows 0 degrees. I go to start motor and it fires, but then it stops firing, I find tdc once again and my distributor is 180 degrees off now pointing at #6, I have also tried 2 Distibutors. I checked teeth on the cam and they all looked good, all my sheer pins I can easily access are good. I have messed with it for a while now and can't figure it out. The engine ran for about 100 miles then it started doing this. Some background info is that it is bored 30 over, not sure how long it sat, I redid most of the gaskets. Has brad new carb, new distributor, new coil. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have power when I'm supposed to, I have amazing spark, the dizzy just keeps falling 180 degrees out of time when it it fires. If you crank it without power to the coil and dizzy it never falls out, but when you give power to coil and dizzy and the motor fires it falls out of time.

·
Premium Member
6,162 Posts
Do you have the old fashioned distributor with points and clips that hold the cap onto the base?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Yes, I have the old style with points and a external coil, its the quote-on-quote oem one from Oreilly's. Some more info, it seems like the distributor is jumping the teeth on the cam, I inspected all teeth on cam and dizzy and they are all good. Is it possible that the gear on the cam is slipping? Is it possible i have a broke key on the timing chain or the chain is slipping?

·
Registered
460 Posts