Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
when i slid the torque convertor in the tranny then seated it, it went in perfect! it is a c-6. when i put up to the aod flexplate on my 302 everything lined up! so i figured it would work perfect! so when i bolted the tranny to the motor everything went together like planned UNTIL i went to bolt the convertor to the flexplate! i had to slide the convertor out about a 1/2" TO 3/4" to get it to bolt up to the flexplate. is this normal? this is my first auto tranny. now i know it is an aod flexplate, and the tranny came out of my old '85 f-150 351w HO 4x4. and i do know that ford makes a flexplate for a 302 to a c-6. but is it all right. kinda has me worried the pump isn t ingaged right. please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
WOAHHHH Sounds like trouble to me. Id bet your on the hairs edge of pump engagement if at all. Im not an expert trans guy but on my c4 the most i slid the convertor up to the flexplate is an 1/8" max. Sounds like you need to tear it apart and get a flexplate made for the 302 C6 combo.
Good luck

·
Registered
502 Posts
should come out or pull out .090 to.180 when bolting up. any more or less will be trouble. if you put spacers in to fix the problem, make sure the converter hub is engaged in the rear of crank about 1/8". it can be in more as long as it doesnt bind or bottom out, but not less.

·
Premium Member
4,414 Posts
I'm pretty sure the AOD flexplate is the same as C4.If so you need to get a c6 plate .The c6 plate is approx 1/4" deeper towards the trans

·
Banned
2,833 Posts
Wrong flexplate. The convertor should not move more then 3/16" to bolt up. If you compare the flexplates you'll notice that they have different teeth counts, botl patterns and amount of flatness from crank flange to convertor face. And never try and put a spacer between the flexplate and crank flange.

·
Registered
1 Posts