Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Holley 3310-2 that I had converted into a 4150. I recently put a Proform non-choke body on because I didn't want a choke and Holley didn't offer one for the vacuum carbs. I had 72 primary jets and 78 secondary before the body swap. I now have 72 primary and 79 secondary. The 79 was the largest I had, more on order from Jegs. The car is a 450HP 390 FE engine, car weighs 3440 without me. I took it for a drive today with the newly modified carb and after its warmed up it has a hesitation on acceleration with a very faint popping out the exhaust. It seems like it may be starving a bit for fuel but I'm no carb expert so I'm looking for advice. I understand that the bleeds may be larger on the Proform but I've never dealt with them before so before I screw things up I thought I'd ask here. I do have a 4 corner Holley HP that I run at the track and did on the street but it really burns rich on the street and fouls plugs. It runs nice at the track with the HP. I'd like to get the vacuum 750 working good on the street and it will save a few gallons when cruising.

Thanks!

·
Registered
10,312 Posts
I'm confused - what 4150? Vac secondary or mechanical? Dual metering blocks and stuff? Have you done the initial setup of the pump arm clearance (preload), pump cam, shooter size, initial idle mixture tune, etc.? If not, do that first and see where it's at.

David

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm confused - what 4150? Vac secondary or mechanical? Dual metering blocks and stuff? Have you done the initial setup of the pump arm clearance (preload), pump cam, shooter size, initial idle mixture tune, etc.? If not, do that first and see where it's at.

David
My mistake, I thought it was a "given" that a 3310 is a 750 Vacuum secondary Holley.