Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm planning some upgrades to my torino's engine. I'd like to hear suggestions from anyone who's worked on theirs as well. I have a 74 torino with a 351w. I am somewhat on a budget, but would like to give the engine a little more power. I'll be doing the work myself, I'm not a great mechanic, but I think I can handle what I have planned out.
First, I was looking at these books, should I skip any of these or is there another book I should read as well? High performance engine parts interchange, how to rebuild the small block ford, and how to build perfomance v-8's on a budget.
I'd like to keep the amount of money I spent on parts in the ball park of a grand. I was planning on using some used gt-40p heads (I want to raise the compression ratio a bit, and they have slightly smaller combustion chambers). I may mill them down a little bit, about .020. I'd like to get the CR up to 9:1, maybe a little higher.
I was also planning on going to a 4-barrel carb and intake, probably see what I can find used. I've heard a lot of good things about the edelbrock intakes.
The big thing is the camshaft, and I'm not sure of what path to take there. I was thinking of buying an aftermarket timing chain and advancing the cam by 4 degrees. The stock cams have the timing retarded, so I figure advancing it would help. Or replacing the camshaft altogether, I'm still researching what after marker cam would work well with the gt-40p, or if the stock cam is fine for them.
I'm not looking into making a racer, this is just my weekend cruiser, and I'd like to have a little more power. Everything on the car right now is stock, and runs well.
Is there any other inexpensive mods I could do as well?

·
Registered
688 Posts