Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 61 since Dec. and it runs nice and clean, so I've never bothered to pull the air filter until yesterday. Too many other things to fix. I noticed there is a large externally threaded fitting on the choke housing facing to the back of the engine. It looks like someone tore it all up with vice grips or something. I put my finger over it and it pulls a lot of vacuum. I couldn't find anything about it in my shop manual yet. I sprayed carb cleaner around it and the RPMs increased. Is it for a PVC valve? I don't see a place for a PVC on the intake. Even though it seems to be pulling a lot of vacuum, I plugged it and it didn't seem to have any noticible affect. I'm guessing at a minimun, it had to be pulling in dirt. The air mixture screws at the base of the carb are around 6 turns out. I thought they were usually around 2-2 1/2 turns out? Sorry, but I have very little knowledge of carbs. Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
Karl.

·
Premium Member
5,865 Posts
If it is a Ford carb the fitting is probably for the hot air tube that comes up from the exhaust manifold.

·
Registered
1,786 Posts
If it is a Ford carb the fitting is probably for the hot air tube that comes up from the exhaust manifold.
Pulling A Vacuum? I wouldnt think so, but maybe... I would make the S.W.A.G. as PCV. IF the carb is in fact a Ford carb...

·
Registered
1,786 Posts