Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm going to be running the comp 282s cam in my cleve and it has a powerband of 2000-6000. will my bottom end be able to handle shifts at 6000, give or take a few, without balancing the bottom end?

Thanks,
Dustin

·
Registered
991 Posts
it may want to jump off the motor mounts at 2000 rpm. I have a boat motor albeit small block chevy thats out of balance, at 2000 rpm it wants to jump out of the boat. Other motors just thrwon together run like glass. Its a crapshoot

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Maybe I'm asking a stupid question. If it wasn't "wanting to jump of the motor mounts at 2000" before then why would it want to after I do a cam swap? I am not asking this to offend anyone. I am just trying to understand as I am a little new to building motors.

Thanks,
Dustin

·
Registered
991 Posts
all you did was a cam swap? Thats not gonna affect the balance, or what am I not seeing here? I am tired LOL

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Maybe I just don't quite understand. About 3 years ago I bought a cleveland shortblock that was rebuilt from a company called Recon. I have put maybe 5000 miles or so on it since.... Would this shortblock assembly already have come with a balanced bottom end? I hear of people building their high rpm motors and getting the rotating assemblies fully balanced to withstand high rpms.

So the question is will the motor I purchased a few years ago be able to withstand 6200 rpms?

Please help me understand

Thanks in advance,
Dustin

·
Registered
991 Posts