Ford Muscle Cars Tech Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1963 or 64 galaxie 500 in need of alot of repair ..im not a professional mechanic nor body worker but i can do my own mechanical issues on my vehicles and handy when working on cars...The question is Do you all this car is repairable at home or will i need to take it to a shop and pay someone to fix it or just leave as a loss cause main concern would be the rust everything else i can handle i can make the car turn on...thanks for ur imput very much appreciated

·
Registered
21 Posts
Man, I’d say with the lack of availability of parts, the extent of damage, and the unfortunate undervalued market for these cars, you’re better off finding another one in better shape. If you have to hire the work done, you’ll easily spend much, much more than what you could buy a really nice one for. If a guy just wanted a weekend project for several years to tinker with himself, then maybe. I just don’t think you have enough there to come out alright. Hurts to say it, though. In my eyes, that would be a parts car for the better one you’ll get next. Good luck whatever you do!

·
Registered
540 Posts
Man, I’d say with the lack of availability of parts, the extent of damage, and the unfortunate undervalued market for these cars, you’re better off finding another one in better shape. If you have to hire the work done, you’ll easily spend much, much more than what you could buy a really nice one for. If a guy just wanted a weekend project for several years to tinker with himself, then maybe. I just don’t think you have enough there to come out alright. Hurts to say it, though. In my eyes, that would be a parts car for the better one you’ll get next. Good luck whatever you do!